Published: Fri, May 19, 2017
Sport | By Gary Shelton

India have played it safe with Champions Trophy selection

"As of now, we have picked Shikhar Dhawan and Rohit Sharma as openers and Ajinkya Rahane is the back-up opener", Prasad replied when asked about Gambhir.

The uncertainty stemmed from India's evident dissatisfaction with the new power and revenue-sharing model agreed by the International Cricket Council last month.

India will be defending the championship.

India retained the middle order they had drafted against England earlier in 2017.

The national selectors discussed the names of Rishabh Pant, Suresh Raina, Shradul Thakur, Dinesh Karthik and Kuldeep Yadav during the selection committee meeting here, but they weren't considered for the final selection. Virat Kohli will be leading the team.

Selectors announced 15-men squad for upcoming Champions Trophy.

Bella Hadid suffers wardrobe malfunction at Cannes
One of the most anticipated events of the year, the Cannes Film Festival saw the inaugural red carpet yesterday. She also took to Instagram to share a shot with the blue waters of the French Riveira in the backdrop.

His ability to dominate matches against all kinds of opposition will help India as he can provide the ideal base for the rest of the batsmen in the middle order including Dhoni and Yuvraj to shine.

The right-arm pacer hopes that the quartet of him, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav and Jasprit Bumrah would be able to perform well in England.

R Ashwin: There were doubts on his fitness as he was recovering from a sports hernia but his form in worldwide cricket guaranteed him a spot in the squad. "The franchise was magnanimous enough to accept our request to rest him", Prasad explained.

"Also, since I am coming after a long time speaking to former players is always valuable to me".

Manish Pandey, who is now representing Kolkata Knight Riders, last played for India against New Zealand in October 2016. The swashbuckling all-rounder is also in the squad for ICC Champions Trophy 2017.

Captain Virat Kohli will lead the team that will play in Group B against Pakistan, South Africa and Sri Lanka in the June 1-18 eight-team competition being played in England and Wales.

Like this: