Published: Mon, July 17, 2017
Money | By Armando Alvarado

Meira vs Kovind: Lawmakers vote to elect India's 14th President

Meira vs Kovind: Lawmakers vote to elect India's 14th President

While the president's role is largely ceremonial as the executive powers are wielded by the prime minister, Kovind's election will likely consolidate the BJP's grip on power.

Finally, the Presidential election 2017 polls are going on to choose one candidate from the NDA's Ram Nath Kovind and INC's Meira Kumar. However, in presidential polls, parties can not issue a whip and cross-voting is often seen. Want to know how India will get it's 14th president?

Bahujan Samaj Party chief Mayawati said she is happy that both the presidential candidates were Dalits. "I wish the next President of our country every success and an accomplished tenure in safeguarding the constitutional values for the people of the nation", the Chief Minister said on Facebook.

Earlier, the NCP had denied supporting Ram Nath Kovind alleging that he is a Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) affiliated person and therefore BJP has selected him so our support will be towards UPAs Meira Kumar. The Election Commission will also provide violet pens for the MLAs and MPs to mark their votes for the two candidates who are contesting this Presidential election.

The counting of votes will take place on July 20 in New Delhi after all the ballot boxes have been brought from various state capitals.

Explosion kills 10 worshippers in Maiduguri mosque
It added that SEMA had deployed Emergency Rapid Response team to evacuate the body and provide medical assistance to the injured. The youth armed with clubs and sticks smashed one of the SEMA's vehicles and prevented the team from carrying out its mission.

BJP's President Amit Shah and India's Prime Minister Narendra Modi cast their votes at the Parliament house.

Kovind was in Jaipur to meet BJP MLAs and MPs elected from Rajasthan and garner their support.

Her son Ansul said it was not a personal fight "but a fight of ideologies". "All parties must train their MPs and MLAs to cast their votes so that not a single vote is wasted", he added.

Significantly, although the opposition had planned to field a joint candidate, the Nitish Kumar-led JD (U) broke ranks to back Kovind's candidature. The present incumbent Pranab Mukherjee, will demit office on July 25.

Like this: