Published: Tue, July 18, 2017
Worldwide | By Gretchen Simon

Murali Vijay out of Sri Lanka tour; Shikhar Dhawan named replacement

Murali Vijay out of Sri Lanka tour; Shikhar Dhawan named replacement

Dhawan, who is a regular in the Indian ODI side, last played a Test for India in 2016 against New Zealand. Following the end of that match, Dhawan sustained a hand injury and did not feature in England and Australia series.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India, on Monday, announced that Shikhar Dhawan would replace fellow opener Murali Vijay during India's tour of Sri Lanka later in the month.

Vijay, who underwent surgery on his wrist in England after the four-Test series against Australia, has already missed the 10th edition of the Indian Premier League Twenty20 tournament. "The BCCI medical team has therefore advised that Vijay should continue his rehabilitation program", he added. Shikhar Dhawan came into the series on the back of some stunning form in the Champions Trophy, he struggled to get going in the Caribbean after the first couple of games.

Speeding driver goes airborne, lands SUV on house roof, officials say
Louis home, and the homeowner and neighbors said it's not the first time a auto has come barreling onto their property. His condition wasn't known, but fire officials say he was in and out of consciousness after the crash.

Was the selection committee not aware of Vijay's fitness or did the player try to rush his return is the question the Board needs to answer after it emerged on Monday that the opener hasn't fully recovered yet to take the flight to Sri Lanka. The teams will lock horns in two more Tests followed by five ODIs and one-off T20I. He was out of action for nearly three-and-a-half months and had missed the entire IPL season with the Dharamsala Test against Australia in March being his last competitive match.

Updated India Test Squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice captain), Rohit Sharma, R Ashwin, R Jadeja, W Saha (wk), Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, M Shami, Kuldeep Yadav, Abhinav Mukund.

Like this: