Published: Wed, September 13, 2017
Sport | By Gary Shelton

Wrong Steve Smith Nominated To Football Hall Of Fame

Wrong Steve Smith Nominated To Football Hall Of Fame

And what else but mistaken identity explains Smith's presence on the list of 108 nominees for induction into next year's class, alongside players like Randy Moss, Brian Urlacher and Richard Seymour? Another Vigor alumnus, former Houston Oilers linebacker Robert Brazile, is one of the two players nominated for the Class of 2018 by the Senior Selection Committee.

Although, according to the Pro Football Hall of Fame rules, nominations can be made by anyone of "any qualified person who has been connected with pro football in any capacity simply by writing to the Pro Football Hall of Fame". Former General Manager Jim Finks is also in the Hall.

Bennett, a Alabama product, was selected by the Colts with the second-overall pick in the 1987 NFL Draft and spent the offseason with the club before he was traded to the Buffalo Bills in a three-way deal that sent running back Eric Dickerson from the Los Angeles Rams to the Colts.

A six-time Pro Bowler, two times First Team All-Pro and one-time Second Team All-Pro Selection, Saturday played in 211 games over his National Football League career, starting 202. He started 92 of 94 games with the Colts before finishing his career in Atlanta and Minnesota.

Neil Smith played only three seasons with the Broncos, but two of them resulted in Super Bowl titles. The Modern-Era nominees will be trimmed to 25 semifinalists in November and then to 15 finalists in January. From there, 15 finalists will be named in January and the final vote will take place February 3. Of the 108 players and coaches announced as nominees Tuesday, 18 will be picked as finalists, who will be put up for a vote by the Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee the day before Super Bowl LII in Minneapolis.

Anadarko Petroleum Corporation (NYSE:AEUA) Trading Volume Significantly Lower
Traders are a little more bearish on shares of Anadarko Petroleum Corporation recently as shown by the uptick in short interest. Bernstein maintained the shares of SLB in report on Friday, May 5 with "Hold" rating. 2,305 are held by Verus Finance Prtnrs.

Running backs: Tiki Barber, Earnest Byner, Roger Craig, Corey Dillon, Eddie George, Edgerrin James, Lorenzo Neal, Fred Taylor, Herschel Walker (also KR), Ricky Watters.

Tight end: Mark Bavaro, Ben Coates, Ferrell Edmunds, Jay Novacek.

Returning finalists from 2017 are receivers Isaac Bruce and Terrell Owens; center Kevin Mawae; tackles Tony Boselli and Joe Jacoby; guard Alan Faneca; safeties John Lynch and Brian Dawkins; cornerback Ty Law; and coach Don Coryell.

Kickers/punters: K Gary Anderson, P Sean Landeta, K Nick Lowery.

Like this: