Published: Wed, November 15, 2017
Worldwide | By Gretchen Simon

Torey Lovullo, a former Bruin, wins NL Manager of the Year

Torey Lovullo, a former Bruin, wins NL Manager of the Year

The Managers of the Year for the 2017 baseball season were announced on Tuesday, with Torey Lovullo of the Arizona Diamondbacks and Paul Molitor of the Minnesota Twins winning the honors.

Lovullo, who is the seventh manager to win the award in his first season as a manager, guided the Diamondbacks to a 93-69 season-a 24-win improvement from 2016.

The D-Backs earned a wild-card spot and advanced into the divisional round of the playoffs. Dodgers manager Dave Roberts finished second in the balloting while Rockies manager Bud Black finished third.

India takes centre stage in energy economy, to drive demand growth: IEA
The largest contribution to demand growth - nearly 30 per cent - would come from India, whose share of global energy would rise to 11 per cent by 2040, it said.

How's that for a rookie campaign? It's a deserving award for Lovullo, who led the Diamondbacks to the NLDS during his first year as manager. The Twins used a staggering 36 different pitchers in 2017 and traded away closer Brandon Kintzler and starter Jaime Garcia at the trade deadline, after arriving at the end of July three games under.500. Chicago Cubs skipper Joe Maddon finished in sixth.

"An award like this, it's certainly a reflection of the organization [and] the work my coaches and players put in", Molitor said on MLB Network.

In voting by BBWAA members, Molitor finished with 112 points (18 first place votes) followed by the Indians' Terry Francona with 90 points (11 first place votes) and Houston A.J. Hinch with 56 points (one first place vote). "Minnesota last had a Manager of the Year in 2010, when Ron Gardenhire won in the Twins" last playoff season; their other Manager of the Year was Tom Kelly in 1991. In fact, he is now just the second person to make the Hall of Fame as a player and then go on to become a Manager of the Year.

Like this: