Published: Wed, December 06, 2017
Worldwide | By Gretchen Simon

PM Modi meets 14 newly-elected BJP mayors of Uttar Pradesh

PM Modi meets 14 newly-elected BJP mayors of Uttar Pradesh

The Lokniti-CSDS poll commissioned by ABP News suggests that there is widespread resentment among the Gujarat electorate against demonetization as well as GST and the BJP's projected vote share declined as the electioneering progressed.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is all set to encash its Uttar Pradesh (UP) civic poll performance in Gujarat by utilising newly elected mayors for campaigning in the poll-bound state. Results will be declared on December 18.

"Its true that the BJP which fought the Nagar Palika Parishad and nagar panchyat elections stood first among all the other political parties that contested, including the SP, BSP, Congress and the Rashtriya Lok Dal, it also lost the maximum number of seats in both the election", said Ram Gopal Yadav. The latest poll, conducted between November 23 and 30, had a sample size of 3,655 people, covering 50 assembly constituencies. The November poll gave the BJP 113-121 seats, and the Congress 58-64 seats.

On Sunday, Hardik told over one lakh audience in Surat that they mustn't vote for BJP, NCP, AAP and independent candidates implying that their vote should go to Congress candidates.

Rio Tinto (RIO) Earns Overweight Rating from JP Morgan Chase & Co
Rio Tinto PLC had 514 analyst reports since July 23, 2015 according to SRatingsIntel. (NASDAQ:ADES) rating on Wednesday, August 9. Rio Tinto plc has a 50 day moving average of 3,640.85 GBX and a 200 Day Moving Average share price is recorded at 3,422.67.

The Congress is also hoping to bridge a gap of nearly 9 per cent vote share, the difference that led the BJP to victory in 2012.

It states that the BJP will lead in central Gujarat with 54 per cent votes while the Congress will take the lead in north Gujarat with 49 per cent votes.

In the 2012 Gujarat polls, the BJP received 47.85 % of the valid votes, while the Congress garnered 38.93%. In the 2017 assembly elections, the BJP has given tickets to 24 former Congress leaders who have joined the saffron fold over the past few years.

‪In the 182-seat Gujarat assembly, BJP now has 117 MLAS while Congress has 59.

Like this: