Published: Fri, December 08, 2017
Sport | By Gary Shelton

Baker Mayfield wins Walter Camp Football Player of the Year Award

Baker Mayfield wins Walter Camp Football Player of the Year Award

Mayfield has already won the Davey O'Brien Award and the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award. The senior quarterback took home some major hardware during college football's annual award night as he was named the Davey O'Brien Award victor, Maxwell Offensive Player of the Year and Walter Camp Player of the Year.

He beat out Louisville quarterback Lamar Jackson, Penn State running back Saquon Barkley, Stanford running back Bryce Love and San Diego State running back Rashaad Penny.

Love would win the Doak Walker, which is given to the nation's top running back, beating out Barkley and Wisconsin's Jonathan Taylor. The Sooners' signal-caller set a national record for passing efficiency and posted 41 touchdowns against just five interceptions. The Heisman Trophy victor will be named Saturday night, with Mayfield, Love and Louisville quarterback Lamar Jackson the three finalists.

Apple Pay Cash Now Available with Latest iOS Update
But that could be small comfort to banks concerned about creeping disintermediation by third parties as mobile commerce expands. Both the P-to-P feature and the commercial feature are necessary to make Apple's payments equation complete, Crone contends.

This awards night representation likely proves Mayfield is the nation's top player and inevitable Heisman Trophy victor on Saturday. "Obviously, I'm very happy and thankful that I'm being recognized with this". I have to give a lot of the credit to my teammates and coaches, they are the reason that I am in position to win this award and I could not have done it without them.

Mayfield is the third Oklahoma quarterback to claim the Davey O'Brien Award. He was at Texas Tech, and played as a freshman, but ended up transferring to Oklahoma. Those three awards were presented to him Thursday night at ESPN's college football awards show in Atlanta.

Like this: