Published: Fri, December 08, 2017
Worldwide | By Gretchen Simon

Champions League last 16: Who has qualified?

Champions League last 16: Who has qualified?

Here, we take a look at their potential opponents, those of fellow Premier League sides Manchester City, Tottenham (who are both confirmed as group winners), and Liverpool...

Real Madrid faces a tough draw against a possible tough rival in the 16th round of the UEFA Champions League as they placed second in their group which is led by Tottenham Hotspur.

Going into the final set of fixtures on Wednesday, there were still four places up for grabs, and they were taken by Liverpool, Sevilla, Shakhtar Donetsk and FC Porto.

Bestowing solace to their supporters, Man Utd and Chelsea have established their spots in the last 16 of the Champions League, with their respective final group stage matches concluded last night.

Chelsea next play at West Ham in the Premier League on Saturday, seeking to continue their run of six wins and a draw in the top flight since the mid-October loss at Crystal Palace. That means Chelsea can not draw Roma, Manchester United can not be drawn to play against Basel and Tottenham will not be up against their Group H opponents Real Madrid.

Hugh Jackman on turning down Bond role
Hugh Jackman apparently was neither shaken nor stirred by the possibility of playing James Bond . And the response was: "Oh, you don't get a say".

With European heavyweights like Bayern Munich, Chelsea, Real Madrid and Juventus in pot two, there are guaranteed to be some blockbuster clashes in the second round.

Chelsea found themselves with little alternatives as, at the moment, Psg, Besiktas and Barcelona are the only clubs that Antonio Conte's side can face in the last-16 stage.

Tottenham: Bayern Munich, Juventus, Basel, Spartak Moscow, Sevilla, Shakhtar Donetsk, Napoli, Porto or RB Leipzig. However, these rules will not be applicable to the quarter-final stages and onwards.

"It doesn't always mean that [it's easy] in the Premier League as we all know".

When is the draw and when are the games? The first legs will be played on 13, 14, 20 and 21 February, and the second legs will be played on 6, 7, 13 and 14 March 2018.

Like this: