Published: Sun, February 18, 2018
Worldwide | By Gretchen Simon

Ahead of Congress's plenary session, Rahul Gandhi forms Steering Committee

Ahead of Congress's plenary session, Rahul Gandhi forms Steering Committee

The Congress will hold its plenary session from March 16 to 18 in Delhi, with the main object on agenda being the ratification of the election of Rahul Gandhi as party president. The party has already a reservation of 33 per cent for women and 20 per cent for Scheduled Castes. "The Steering Committee will function in place of the Working Committee of the party", the statement released by the party said.

The steering committee also made a decision to hold plenary session of grand old party from March 16 to 18 in the national capital. Had the party completed organisational elections much earlier, plans were to hold the plenary in Bengaluru as the Congress is in power in Karnataka but it was ruled out as it would have disturbed the party's preparations for the impending Assembly elections in the state. "Everyday 30, 000 people go in search of jobs, and the government provides employment to just 400 new youth as compared to 40, 0000 in China", Gandhi had reportedly said. The dates were fixed at the meeting of the Steering Committee, which was formed after dissolving the Central Working Committee. Those attending the meeting chaired by Rahul included Sonia Gandhi and Dr Manmohan Singh.

Facebook must stop collecting user data, Belgian court rules
The case came after the Privacy Commission watchdog filed a case against Facebook in June 2015. Facebook has been ordered to stop tracking people without consent, by a court in Belgium .

The steering committee also includes senior leaders A K Antony, Ahmed Patel, Digvijay Singh, Ghulam Nabi Azad, Ambika Soni, Dwivedi, Ashok Gehlot, Sushil Kumar Shinde, P Chidambaram, Oscar Fernandes, Anand Sharma and All India Congress Committee (AICC) chief spokesperson Randeep Singh Surjewala. During the session, the committee members will ratify the election of Gandhi as the Congress president on December 11.

Like this: