Published: Tue, March 06, 2018
Sport | By Gary Shelton

Nidahas Trophy: India to Face Sri Lanka in 1st T20 worldwide

Nidahas Trophy: India to Face Sri Lanka in 1st T20 worldwide

The 1st T20I between India and Sri Lanka will be played at R Premadasa stadium in Colombo on Tuesday, 6 March, 2018.

Sri Lanka has imposed a nationwide state of emergency for the first time since the civil war-era in response to days of violent unrest between Sinhalese and Muslim communities. Indian cricket team was scheduled to play the tri-nation series in Sri-Lanka that was to start from today before that a communal tragedy took place in the country.

Sri Lanka has a long history of state of emergency during the LTTE rebellion both in the south and the Tamil minority dominated north and east of the island.

Due to clashes between the Buddhists and the Muslims, the government chose to declare a state of emergency to control the surging incident of communal violence in the island nation.

Eagles getting calls for Foles, asking high price
Wentz is recovering from an ACL injury and his status for Week 1 isn't known yet, so this is definitely a nuanced conversation. The Eagles have not actively shopped Foles but are taking inquiries, the sources said.

The Sinhalese are a mainly Buddhist ethnic group making up almost three-quarters of Sri Lanka's 21 million people.

The curfew in the district was extended after the body of a Muslim man was pulled from the ashes of a burnt building, threatening to further raise communal tensions that have flared up across Sri Lanka in recent weeks. "The situation in picture is Kandy and not Colombo", an Indian team spokesperson said. If there are big security concerns, the series might be called off, although there isn't any official word about the same. Four other senior players have been rested as well - MS Dhoni, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Hardik Pandya while Kuldeep Yadav misses out due to an injury. Replacing them woud be rookie pacers Mohamed Siraj, Shardul Thakur, all-rounder Vijay Shankar and Washington Sundar.

India: Rohit Sharma (c), Shikhar Dhawan (vice-captain), KL Rahul, Suresh Raina, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Deepak Hooda, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Vijay Shankar, Shardul Thakur, Jaydev Unadkat, Mohammad Siraj and Rishabh Pant (wk).

Like this: