Published: Mon, March 12, 2018
Hi-Tech | By Grace Becker

WhatsApp will give you extra time to delete your embarrassing messages

WhatsApp will give you extra time to delete your embarrassing messages

The app which introduced the "delete for everyone" feature past year, allowed people to delete messages seven minutes after it was sent. The time frame that the chat app earlier gave was 7 minutes and it recently got updated to 1 hour 8 minutes and 16 seconds.

WhatsApp users across the globe breathed a collective sigh of relief last October when the app introduced a way of unsending messages that had already been dispatched - calling back missives from the ether, as long as you retrieved it within seven minutes or so.

According to WaBetaInfo (@wabetainfo), a Twitter account that tracks changes in WhatsApp's beta builds, the app will silently add the "Block revoke request" feature, which will prevent the misuse of Delete for everyone feature. When the recipient received this particular message contained the revoke request, WhatsApp checked if the ID of the message was present in the database and directly deleted it.

Trump's repeat attacks on Maxine Waters's IQ are familiar
Shortly after that, she told MSNBC's Joy Reid: "I certainly expected him to come out with some racist remarks about me". Waters was upset with Trump's comments at a rally Saturday night that she was a "low IQ individual".

WhatsApp Messenger has updated its "Delete for Everyone" feature.

Once the new message is over its beta testing, users will be able to delete messages for everyone even after an hour has passed. The post points out that this will make sure no-one can illegally delete messages older than 24 hours for everyone. Now, it seems that the popular messaging app is planning of rolling out another feature "Block Revoke Request".

Business Report earlier this month reported that there is a way to read messages on WhatsApp without the sender knowing. The reports also highlights that if the recipient's phone is not switched on within 24 hours, the revoke request will be considered invalid. It has also been pointed out that if someone replies to a message in a group, and the same is later deleted for everyone, the message continues to show on the group.

Like this: