Published: Wed, March 14, 2018
Life&Culture | By Rose Hansen

Baluni Files Papers For Rajya Sabha

Baluni Files Papers For Rajya Sabha

Flatly turning down the request from Opposition JD (S) to extend support for its industrialist candidate B M Farooq for the Rajya Sabha seat, the ruling Congress party has chose to try its luck by gambling on winning the third out of the four Rajya Sabha seats from the Karnataka Legislative Assembly.

Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) candidates Manoj Jha and Ashfaque Karim were the first to file their nominations. Polling is scheduled for March 23, but with just six candidates for six seats, it may not be required at all.

The ruling BJP in Gujarat would want to defeat the Congress for the setback it suffered after Ahmed Patel managed to win the Rajya Sabha seat in 2017. Three nominated members - actor Rekha, cricketer Sachin Tendulkar and social worker Anu Aga - will also retire then.

Biennial elections are being held for 58 Rajya Sabha seats across several states and by-poll for one in Kerala.

Anil Baluni, the national media head of the BJP and a confidante of party chief Amit Shah, was set to get elected unopposed from Uttarakhand as his was the lone nomination.

In the 224-member assembly, each candidate will require 44 votes to win a Rajya Sabha seat.

The candidates include Abhishek Manu Singhvi from West Bengal, senior journalist Kumar Ketkar from Maharashtra and former Union Minister Naranbhai Rathwa.

Zayn Malik Hinted at Gigi Hadid Split on Instagram Hours Before Announcement
The post served as a joint statement of sorts, and - despite the sad nature of the news - was nothing but respectful and loving. Sources close to the couple assure that the break up was mutual and there is no hard feelings or resentment between them.

Meanwhile, in Gujarat, the BJP fielded three candidates on its mandate to counter a possible move by the Congress.

Rane quit the Shiv Sena in 2005 and later joined the Congress.

The party think tank thought it can request the MIM, which has seven MLAs, to support the Congress nominee, besides the remaining two TDP MLAs.

The maximum number of candidates fielded by the Congress party are in Karnataka, with 3 nominations, namely Dalit poet L. Hanumanthaiah, Vokkalinga leader G.C. Chandrasekhar and Syed Naseer Hussain.

Prasad later said that the BJP was in the government in 21 states of the country, with 15 chief ministers of their own.

Besides Chaturvedi, senior leaders such as Suresh Pachauri, former Mahila Congress chief Shobha Oza and State Congress president Arun Yadav were in contention for the seat in MP.

Like this: