Published: Sat, April 14, 2018
Sci-tech | By Carrie Guzman

There Might Be A New Self-Destructing Message Feature In The Gmail Revamp

There Might Be A New Self-Destructing Message Feature In The Gmail Revamp

Obtained by The Verge, these screenshots reveal that Gmail's new aesthetic lines up nicely with the design language found in a lot of Google's other apps.

"Weak data connectivity‚ high data costs and low RAM or storage space often make it hard for people to get the most out of the internet - Google Go is built to handle these challenges‚" the company said in a statement.

But while the leaked screenshots showed numerous big changes in Gmail, info about a new feature that lets users send self-destructing emails is only starting to trickle out now.

According to Google, the new Gmail design will be launched "in the coming weeks". "These changes will also be made available to users with personal Gmail accounts, so we want to make sure you're adequately prepared for questions from your G Suite users in advance of the public announcement".

Trump Lawyer Arranged $1M Payoff Over GOP Donor's Affair With Playmate
Both Daniels and McDougal allege they had affairs with Trump and that they were paid to be quiet about those encounters. Cohen reached out to me after being contacted by this woman's attorney, Keith Davidson ", Broidy said in his statement.

While the timing of the redesign is a bit of a surprise, the news itself isn't. However, since recipients are still able to screenshot a message, it's not a guarantee of privacy. Sending a confidential email to a non-Google address may not work, as it prompts the viewer to log into their Google account to access the private message. In 2017, Gmail had 1.2 billion active worldwide users. When users try to open an expired e-mail, they'll find an expired link to the message and will no longer be available for viewing. While ProtonMail deletes the message completely after a certain amount of time, Google sends a link to the message in the email which becomes inaccessible after a certain amount of time - leaving the intermediate email in the inbox. "Unfortunately users can't always decide on the type of device they have or the kind of connection they are on", explains Mzamo Masito, Google Africa's CMO.

Google did not say when its update to Gmail may go live.

As presented by TechCrunch, a small lock icon appears in the compose window for an email which represents "Confidential Mode". "Confidential Mode" will, for starters, prevent recipients from sharing the email's content.

Like this: