Published: Mon, September 24, 2018
Sport | By Gary Shelton

FIFPro World XI Revealed At FIFA's 'The Best' Awards

FIFPro World XI Revealed At FIFA's 'The Best' Awards

Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo are among the judges for a new award created to recognise the world's best young player.

Ronaldo helped his former team Real Madrid win three UCL titles on a bounce - to bring their tally to 13 in the history of the championship.

For a sixth straight season, Ronaldo was the Champions League's top scorer with 15 goals and also scored four times at the World Cup, including a hat-trick against Spain in a thrilling 3-3 draw to open Portugal's campaign.

Modric became the first player other than Ronaldo and Messi to lift FIFA's The Best award since Ricardo Kaka won it in 2007, ending the 10-year reign of the superstar duo. Portugal suffered a disappointing last-16 exit from the 2018 World Cup in Russian Federation, after which he moved to Juventus in a 112 million euros (£99.2m) transfer.

With no Cristiano in London, the bets are on Luka Modric having won the Champions League with Real Madrid and reached the World Cup final with Croatia, only to be beaten despite his spectacular performance.

Towns agrees to 5-year, $190M extension with Timberwolves
He's a four-time All-Star, has averaged at least 20 points per game four years in a row, and is a great defender. Yesterday, the Timberwolves gave Karl-Anthony Towns a massive five-year extension, worth $190 million.

"He deserves it because he was the best player in the Club World Cup and the best player in the World Cup".

Salah also makes the podium for the first time after an incredible 44-goal debut season for Liverpool that carried the Reds to the Champions League final.

Ronaldo's absence is due to the fact that Juventus played last night, and have a midweek game on Wednesday against Bologna.

"The Best" award show recognizes the best players from the 2017/2018 season, yet arguably the two best footballers in the past decade chose to skip the star-studded event.

Real Madrid shot-stopper Thibaut Courtois has just picked up the FIFA Goalkeeper of the Year award.

Like this: