Published: Wed, October 10, 2018
Sport | By Gary Shelton

Modric V Ronaldo Rematch As Ballon D'or Nominees Unveiled

Modric V Ronaldo Rematch As Ballon D'or Nominees Unveiled

The 33-year-old forward, who ended his nine-season stay at Real Madrid by moving to Juventus for £99million in the summer, is a five-time victor of the award.

Harry Kane and Cristiano Ronaldo have been named on the shortlist for the 2018 Ballon d'Or.

The two Ballon d'Or Awards will be decided by an worldwide jury of journalists, with AS editor Alfredo Relaño again casting Spain's vote this year.

A panel of journalists selects the Ballon d'Or victor which was first established in 1956 and will this year feature a women's award for the first time.

Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi are once again nominated for Ballon d'Or award.

Ronaldo is the current defending champion, having won his fifth Ballon d'Or in 2017.

BTS Crowned Winner Of Favorite Social Artist At 2018 American Music Awards
Swift said that although she would like to continue supporting female politicians, she came out against incumbent Republican U.S. Marsha Blackburn whose voting record, Swift said, "appalls and terrifies" her.

Tottenham's Kane, 25, helped England reach the semi-finals of the World Cup in Russian Federation, while 29-year-old Bale scored twice for Real Madrid in the Champions League win over Liverpool.

PSG star Neymar stands at 3%, Kylian Mbappe and FIFA Best awardee Luka Modric stand at 2% while Antoine Greizmann, Ivan Rakitic, Eden Hazard and Rafael Varane stand at 1%.

Manchester City forward Sergio Aguero is nominated as is another prolific South American striker, Edinson Cavani of Uruguay and Paris Saint-Germain.

But a combination of apparent voter fatigue, Croatia's fairytale run, and recent rape allegations against the Portuguese star have lessened his chances with the bookies, with Modric, who captured the rival FIFA Best Player award last month, now considered the odds-on favorite.

Saul also defended Atletico coach Diego Simeone, who was booed by fans earlier this season.

In another first, the best under-21 player will receive the Kopa Trophy.

Like this: